Introverts Should Not Be Undermined

Image

Susan Cain’s positive TED talk on introversion was utterly inspiring and thought provoking. I was never one of those people who judged people by their introvert or extrovert traits, but I’m incredibly happy that she made being an introvert such a positive thing. Personally, I’m not quite sure if I’m an extrovert or an introvert, however I’m probably more leaning towards the introvert side. Typically, I’m not a loud, outspoken and outgoing person (which are “typical” extrovert traits). When I was younger I got the phrases “Why do you never talk?” and “Why are you so quiet?”. At the time this bothered me a lot, however now I realise that it’s okay to be a little quiet and a little different. So…I guess solitude is bliss. 

I think Susan is absolutely right in the way that we need introverts! I do indeed think that they have amazing ideas that are planted and are ready to sprout however are never always recognised. I see this a lot in the classroom at school. Even though a lot of introverts don’t like speaking in public, or raising their hand in class, there should be other ways of being able to share their opinion. Perhaps through writing…like this blog! (Well done to my brilliant psychology teacher for creating this anonymous blogging idea). 

STOP FORCING THE GROUP WORK. This is undeniably true. I think we’ve all felt that time when we get paired up with people we don’t know and just don’t want to say anything for the fear of being judged (which I know is typically “shy” as Susan mentioned, however still sort of applies) and just generally wanting to work by oneself. Group work should not always be mandatory but should more or less be optional, especially in classroom based settings. 

I think sometimes, and this isn’t all the time, that extroverts take the micky out of introverts. They immediately go to label us as “quiet” and “weird” when I think some of the best people are introverts. I’ve met a lot of typically introverted people in my time, and they have come to be some of my bestest friends. Never judge a book by its cover. 

 

Massive thanks to the wondrous Susan Cain herself who has viewed my post! You can find her on twitter at: http://twitter.com/susancain

Leave a Reply

